Friday, May 11, 2012

Eisa Davis and Nora Chipaumire among Alpert winners

Dancer-choreographer Nora Chipaumire (c)2008, Eva Yaa Asantewaa

How exciting to see two of my favorite New York artists--Nora Chipaumire (choreography) and multi-talented Eisa Davis (theater) among the winners of this year's Alpert Award in the Arts.
The Alpert Award in the Arts is an unrestricted prize of $75,000 given annually to five risk-taking mid-career artists working in the fields of dance, film/video, music, theatre and the visual arts.
The prize was initiated and funded by the Herb Alpert Foundation and has been administered by California Institute of the Arts since 1994. The Alpert Award honors and supports artists respected for their creativity, ingenuity, and bodies of work, at a moment in their lives when they are poised to propel their art in new and unpredictable directions. The Alpert recognizes experimenters who are making something that matters within and beyond their field.
Read more about the Alpert Award.

Read about and hear from the 2012 winners:

Myra Melford (music)

Michael Smith (visual arts)

No comments:

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2007-2018 Eva Yaa Asantewaa
All Rights Reserved

Popular Posts