Wednesday, October 5, 2016

Eiko Otake to take special honor at the 2016 Bessies

This brings back memories!
A moment from Eiko Otake's East Village sojourn,
A Body in Places, presented by Danspace Project
(photo: Ian Douglas)

Today, the NY Dance and Performance Awards organization (the Bessies) announced that a Special Citation will be awarded to dancer-choreographer Eiko Otake "for her expansive and transformative A Body in Places," a platform presented in March by Danspace Project. Meredith Monk will present Otake's citation at the 32nd annual Bessie's ceremony, hosted by award-winning choreographer, writer, and comedian Adrienne Truscott.

Adrienne Truscott
will host the 2016 Bessies
at BAM.
(photo: Richard Hardcastle)

The 2016 Bessies

Tuesday, October 18, 7:30pm

Doors open at 6:30pm 
for red carpet and pre-show celebrations.

The 2016 Bessies presenter line up includes Tei Blow, Katy Clark, Ayodele Casel, Ishmael Houston-Jones, Judy Hussie-Taylor, Judith Jamison, Alastair Macaulay, Joan Myers Brown, Amar Ramasar, Regg Roc and Carlota Santana.

Other special presentation recipients include Brenda Bufalino, recipient of the 2016 Bessie for Lifetime Achievement in Dance, and to The Jerome Robbins Dance Division of The New York Public Library for the Performing Arts and Alex Smith, Executive Chairman of the Thelma Hill Performing Arts Center, both recipients of awards for Outstanding Service to the Field of Dance.

The ceremony will feature a performance by Joya Powell, recipient of the 2016 Outstanding Emerging Choreographer Award, Donald McKayle’s Rainbow ’Round My Shoulder (2016 Bessie for Outstanding Revival), performed by Dayton Contemporary Dance Company and produced by Paul Taylor’s American Modern Dance, and an all-star tap tribute to Brenda Bufalino.

Post-ceremony party 
(open to all Bessie Awards ticket holders)
647 Fulton Street, Brooklyn

Produced in partnership with Dance/NYC, the Bessies recognize exceptional and groundbreaking work in choreography, performance, music composition, and visual design. For a complete list of 2015−16 Bessie nominees, go to:

Get your free email subscription
to InfiniteBody.

No comments:

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2007-2018 Eva Yaa Asantewaa
All Rights Reserved

Popular Posts