Thursday, June 5, 2014

McKnight Artist Fellowships in dance awarded in Minneapolis

Northrop is an epicenter of discovery and transformation that connects the University of Minnesota and communities beyond by celebrating innovation in the arts, performance, and academics. 
Northrop is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2014 McKnight Artist Fellowships for Choreographers and the McKnight Artist Fellowships for Dancers. With the generous support of the McKnight Foundation, Northrop awards fellowships to individual mid-career dancers and choreographers. Support for individual artists has been a cornerstone of the McKnight Foundation’s arts program since it began in 1981. The foundation recognizes that the arts cannot flourish or enhance community life without the ideas, energy, and drive of individual artists, and that artists cannot make these contributions without unfettered creative time. Fellowship awards are made in 10 disciplines through 8 arts organizations and presenters.

McKnight Artist Fellowships for Choreographers: 2014 Recipients

Penelope Freeh

Wynn Fricke

Joanie Smith

Choreographers Selection Panel:

Janet Lilly, Professor and Head of Dance, UNC-Greensboro (Greensboro, NC)

David Shimotakahara, Executive/Artistic Director, GroundWorks Dance Theater (Cleveland, OH)

Sarah Slipper, Artistic Director, Northwest Dance Project (Portland, OR)

Eva Yaa Asantewaa, Arts Journalist (New York, NY)

McKnight Artist Fellowships for Dancers: 2014 Recipients

Kenna-Camara Cottman

Sally Rousse

Max Wirsing

Dancers Selection Panel:

Joan Karlen, Professor and Dance Program Coordinator, University of Wisconsin-Stevens Point (WI)

Christopher Morgan, Artistic Director, Christopher K. Morgan & Artists; and Director, Dance Omi International Dance Collective (Washington D.C.)

Heidi Geier, Dance Artist and Educator (St. Louis Park, MN)

Nic Lincoln, Dance Artist and Activist (St. Paul, MN)

Sharon Picasso, Dancer, Choreographer, and Performance Artist (Minneapolis, MN)

For further information on the McKnight Artist Fellowships for Choreographers and Dancers and bios for this year's recipients, please click here.

No comments:

Copyright notice

Copyright © 2007-2018 Eva Yaa Asantewaa
All Rights Reserved

Popular Posts